Porirua Youth Awards







Young people who are outstanding and excellent in both attainment and attitude.


The purpose of the Porirua Youth Awards is to reward young people who are excelling.  Awards are given in art and culture,
education, environment or community work, and sport.  Different from most awards, the Porirua Youth Awards recognises
youth in two age categories - junior (11-15 year olds) and senior (16-19 year olds).

This initiative was created in response to numerous inquiries and requests for attention and support to be given to young
people of Porirua who are achieving in school, on the sport field, on the stage, and in the community. The Porirua Youth
Awards provides a medium by which Porirua City acknowledges our youth who are leading the way. Past patron, Hekia
Parata, championed raising funds for Porirua Youth Awards with over $35,000 being raised in 2010 through the
parliamentary games, a celebrity debate, fundraising auction and generous donations. Since then, support has come
from the Porirua City Council and a number of generous sponsors, including Whittakers, Derek Wooton Memorial Trust,
Wellington Windows and Doors, Helen and Chris Kirk-Burnnand and Bob & Sue Shennan.


  • Grant applications open 22 July 2019
  • Grant applications close 30 August 2019
  • Interviews with judging panel 23 - 26 September 2019
  • Winners are announced 27 September
  • Porirua Youth Awards function 24 October 2019

For further enquiries. please contact Partners Porirua (04 237 1097) or email admin@partnersporirua.org.nz


The eighth annual Porirua Youth Awards celebrated some of the regions incredibly passionate and talented young people
at Pātaka on October 25th 2018. The awards acknowledge achievements of 12 - 19 year olds across a range of categories.
As usual, our panel of judges had a difficult task, due to the high calibre of the 28 total applicants.

 Congratulations to all winners for 2018 who are all shining examples of outstanding achievers and leaders in our community.
CLICK HERE for the list of recipients for 2018.